Skip to main content
scroll to top

License Plates

The New Hampshire Division of Veterans Services provides specialized service-specific license plate decals and Gold Star Family license plate decals which are authorized to be affixed to the State’s “Multi-Use Decal Number Plates” as dictated by legislation.

The New Hampshire Division of Veterans Services provides specialized service-specific license plate decals and Gold Star Family license plate decals which are authorized to be affixed to the State’s “Multi-Use Decal Number Plates” as dictated by legislation.
License Plate Decals
The New Hampshire Division of Veterans Services is responsible for providing specialized license plate decals for the following which are authorized to be affixed to the State’s new “Multi-Use Decal Number Plates” as dictated by HB 261 and HB 549:

  • Service specific decals: ARMY, NAVY, AIR FORCE, MARINES, COAST GUARD
  • Veteran decal
  • Medal of Valor decals (Medal of Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross, Air Force Cross, Silver Star, Bronze Star)
  • Gold Star Family decal

Multi-Use Veterans Decal Plates RSA 261-C
www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/nhtoc/NHTOC-XXI-261-C.htm

Gold Star Family Decals

Gold Star Family Decal RSA’s
www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/261-b/261-b-3-c.htm

A multi use decal plate (non veteran multi use plate – unless the applicant happens to be a gold star family AND veteran) is required for decal placement.
www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/261-b/261-b-mrg.htm

Eligibility for use of Gold Star Family decals can be found here:
www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/261-c/261-c-3-a.htm
One requirement is a DD Form 1300.

Process for Ordering Decals

Send to the NH Division of Veteran Services a check or money order (Paid to the order of “New Hampshire State Treasury”) in the amount of $10.00 along with an enclosed self-addressed envelope large enough to hold a 3”X 3” decal.
$10.00 will purchase two (2) decals.

Send your check or money order and a self-addressed envelope to:

NHDVS c/o Service Decals
275 Chestnut St. Rm. 517
Manchester, NH 03101

The Service Decal Order Form is available for your convenience.

The Gold Star Family Decal Order Form is available for your convenience.

Any questions please contact us at (603) 624-9230 Ext 301.

NH Regulations Re: License Plates & Fees

Refer to the NH State Veterans Benefits document for more information on all state benefits and the applicable laws, rules & regulations.

Veterans License Plate

Veterans honorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces may be issued a special license plate. The plate will be issued upon application and proof of honorable discharge. (See RSA 261:87-b)

Other Veteran Plates & Fees

An amputee or paraplegic classified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs as permanently and totally disabled from service-connected disability who owns a motor vehicle received from or replaced by the Department of Veterans Affairs may be furnished a special license plate without charge for one motor vehicle. Recipients of the Purple Heart and Survivors of Pearl Harbor may be issued one set of special license plates upon payment of registration fees. (See RSA 261:86)

A veteran determined by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to be totally blind because of a service-connected disability who owns a motor vehicle may be furnished a special license plate without charge for one vehicle. (See RSA 261:86)

Special license plates are available without charge to veterans who are former Prisoners of War (POWs).(See RSA 261:86)

Special license plates may be issued for motor vehicles owned by individuals with walking disabilities. (See RSA 261:88)

No registration fee is payable for a vehicle provided by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to an amputee, paraplegic or blind veteran classified as being permanently and totally disabled from service connection. (See RSA 261:141, VIII)

Any motor vehicle bearing special disabled veteran license plates shall be allowed free parking time in any city or town if the vehicle is under the direct control of the owner. (RSA 265:73)

No fee shall be charged for a permit to register a motor vehicle owned by a veteran who has been classified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs as being totally blind as a result of a service connected disability. (See RSA 261:159)

No fee shall be charged for a permit to register a motor vehicle owned by a war veteran who is an amputee, paraplegic or who suffered the loss of use of a limb from a service connected cause as certified by the U.S. Department of Veterans

Affairs when the vehicle is received or a cash settlement in lieu thereof is received from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (See RSA 261:157)

No fee shall be charged for a motor vehicle operator's license for a veteran who is an amputee or paraplegic and who received a motor vehicle from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs nor for a veteran who has been classified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs as being permanently and totally disabled due to service connected disability. (See RSA 263-42)

 

State of New Hampshire Division of Veterans Services
275 Chestnut Street | Room 517 | Manchester, NH 03101-2411
(603) 624-9230 | NH Toll Free 1-800-622-9230 | Fax: (603) 624-9236
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964